Aghnar

Posted Fri Jun 25, 2021 3:14 am

Hi,

I have discovered recently this forum and I find it marvelous. It speaks a lot about :boing: A1000, :boing: A500, OS 1.2 and 1.3. All what I prefer.
I have been reusing my Amiga (A500 and A1200) for 3 years after a little hibernation of about 20 years. What I do the most on Amiga is coding (in Amos).
I am coding demos and a game (in progress).

My idea is to code a demo for the A1000. In fact all the demo I coded are for A500 (with 512kb of fast).
But with no fast ram and only 256kb of chip memory I have less than 20Kb left when I do a simple executable doing nothing in Amos...
I want to keep this limit of 256kb of chip memory because I find this is a kind of signature of the A1000.
But I am obliged to consider extra memory...

What I want to know if some people have some interest for demo for A1000 and if a minimal running config based on 256kb of chip + 256 kb of other memory (who can be fast, slow, chip) is a config that will allow most people who have today an A1000 to launch the demo?
Thanks.

Aghnar
PS : sorry for the quality of my english...

Zippy Zapp
CA, USA

Posted Fri Jun 25, 2021 7:32 am

Welcome! Thanks for sharing the link to your projects on Pouet. It is always nice to have a coder on the forums! I will check out your demos as I am a fan of them for sure.

:boing: :commodore: :D

McTrinsic

Posted Fri Jun 25, 2021 9:55 am

I always appreciate it if the A1000 gets some love. It is a wonderful machine, the one that started it all.

Do you have some background on the machines you use for coding?
Do you do it in UAE or on actual Amiga Hardware?

And if you own real Amiga hardware - got some pics of you setup?

Sorry if I am curious. I find it exciting that after all this time, and with all these new electronics around, people still come back to 16-bit and 8-bit wonders. Are there any special stories how you came to the amiga and why you still hold it dear?

Aghnar

Posted Fri Jun 25, 2021 1:14 pm

@Zippy Zapp