intric8
Seattle, WA, USA

Posted Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:05 am

I've been hunting for a blue kickstarter case for a few years now. Oh, I'd seen them pop up on Ebay from time to time but I refused to pay over $200 for one. I have a cream colored KS case and snagged it 4 or 5 years ago for $24, and that felt like a total bargain (it was).

And the cream colored case looks awesome IMO if you have the breadbin keycap setup. I also bought a custom printed case badge, and placed it on yet another metal badge to make it stick out more.

This is what I originally had:
creamcoloredKScase.jpg
A couple of weeks ago, a blue case popped up on Ebay and in auction format. My radar was sent on high alert, but I told myself, "Self, no more than $100. No exceptions." I figured if the price goes higher than a brand new Pixel Wizard case, I'm out.

I dropped a max-bid of $100 on there, and watched that final day as someone else bid up and up and up, all the way to $92. Then they suddenly stopped.

I waited.

Those last 60 seconds were brutal, and I was certain when the time elapsed the page would refresh to show me I'd just lost to someone who bid $101 or some crap.

But then... to my complete surprise, I won!

Fast forward to August 14, my wife's birthday, which we spent outdoors paddle boarding with the kids and generally having a great time. Yet back home, a box waited for me to return. Late last night I finally cut it open.

And there it was.
IMG_8863.jpg
Marty could barely believe his eyes. Was it from the past? The future? Who knows, but he liked what he saw.

I had been planning for this day for a long time so I immediately got to work. I love the cream case, but I wanted this more for so long! No sense in waiting.
IMG_8864.jpg
Is that a heavenly choir singing?

IMG_8866.jpg
What am I to do with this spare case? Decisions decisions.

IMG_8867.jpg