m0th

Posted Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:03 pm

Let me preface that I'm still learning how to use my Amiga 1000 and vintage computing as a hobby.

Bought an OKI DATA Microline 320 Turbo for $20 USD yesterday.

Upon doing some research for printing from the A1000 I found this and it mentions:
If you have a serial (RS-232) printer connected via the Amiga's serial port instead of the parallel port, a similar caution applies: Pins 14, 21, and 23 on the serial port carry power supply voltages. (Refer to page 7-12 of the Introduction to Amiga manual for a pinout chart.) Since these pins are often unused in devices like modems and printers, it may be safe to use IBM-type serial printer cables. Check the manual for your printer carefully to be sure that your particular model does not make any connection to these pins. Again, a gender-changer plug will be required to attach an IBM-style cable to the Amiga serial port. It's best to check with your dealer before using a suspect cable.
The cable appears to be the one that came with the printer and it fits in the serial port of the Amiga. Might be a stupid question, but is it possible to fry my A1000 from using this printer?

dansalvato
Boise, ID

Posted Fri Sep 20, 2019 9:27 am

Yeah, I never made the mistake myself but I've always heard that mixing up the serial and parallel ports on the Amiga 1000 can result in damage to either the Amiga or the device you're plugging in. The Amiga 1000 has reversed genders on both the serial and parallel ports. So if you have a cable that fits into the Amiga serial port, it's likely a parallel cable and you're risking damage. I have two gender changers, female-to-female and male-to-male, that I just never remove from the ports. To be extra sure, the printer should also label its ports as serial or parallel, which should always go to the Amiga's corresponding port.

m0th

Posted Fri Sep 20, 2019 11:00 am