Page 6 of 6

Re: Free Amiga 1000 Kickstart Switcher with Gerbers

Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 4:50 pm
by nospam2000
wildcopper wrote: ↑
Thu Nov 12, 2020 4:30 pm
How do you switch between kickstart versions?
I use an ATF22V10C and the /OVR signal to disable the internal Kickstart. To switch between the two Kickstarts in the flash I just use a jumper where a switch can be connected.

Michael

Re: Free Amiga 1000 Kickstart Switcher with Gerbers

Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 6:45 pm
by kneehighspy
personally, i would love to play with a Rejuvenator since I’ve never personally used one 🙂

but more amiga 1000 projects the better 🙂


intric8 wrote: ↑
Wed Nov 11, 2020 6:33 pm
I have a feeling this would not play nice with my Rejuvenator, but I could be totally wrong. It happens all of the time. ;)

Speaking just for me, since I have neither a TF or Vampire, can you explain a little bit more about the "FPGA socket to use an FPGA as a CPU emulation"? That sounds very interesting. You might should consider making this board its own thread whenever your boards arrive. (Or, I think I can help with that now if you like.)

I think it would also be quite cool - since I'm just dreaming here - if the expansion could be easily disabled via hardware switch in case one wanted to load a game via floppy that has to be booted.

As an A1K fan that uses his expansion port today, my only concern would be if I could continue to use my Microbotics 2MB RAM that I also use for its SCSI port. That's how I boot via "hdd." I wonder if I could stick this board out of the Microbotics side port? Oh man that would look nuts, but it would be an interesting experiment for sure.

Not sure about you guys, but the expansion ports on some of my A1Ks can be a bit finicky at times if the connection isn't spot on. Sometimes how an expansion "hangs" on the outside can have a dramatic effect on it working, even if the angle change is a fraction of a millimeter.

Re: Free Amiga 1000 Kickstart Switcher with Gerbers

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 7:09 am
by maurensen
nospam2000 wrote: ↑
Thu Nov 12, 2020 3:30 pm
Huxley wrote: ↑
Wed Nov 11, 2020 6:27 pm
would it be possible for the A1000 edition of this upgrade to allow for alternate keyboards to be used? I'm having a terrible time finding an A1000-style keyboard for any price...
There are products for USB to Amiga keyboard adapters, e.g. "Sum A234/CD32". Unfortunately the A1000 has a different connector, but I think the electronics are the same.

I was asked to build such an adapter as well, but that is another project.

Michael
Some time ago saw an Amiga 1000/ps2 keyboard adapter on ebay...try to search!