Page 1 of 1

best solution for this recurring message at boot?

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 9:52 am
by cc3d
Image

thank you

Re: best solution for this recurring message at boot?

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 10:02 am
by intric8
You have something trying to load very likely in your startup sequence.

For example, let's say you have Directory Opus load on boot-up. That message is very normal to see depending on when it gets called in the startup sequence if you have a RTG card in use (this is just an example). DOpus kind of gets in the way of the other drivers being loaded, and that message is actually quite normal.

If you go into your startup-sequence, I bet you'll get an idea as to what might be getting in the way.

As a reminder, you would open the Shell and

Code: Select all

cd s:
(change directory to the S:)

Then

Code: Select all

ed startup-sequence
If you don't see anything unusual there - like some lines to start a program on boot you may or may not have anymore, it's possible there could be something in the user-startup file. User-startup is a great place to do that kind of thing and not lock your startup-sequnce on boot if something fails.

To open and edit the user startup, you'd go back to s: and

Code: Select all

ed user-startup

If you make any changes in either file, and want to Save them, you'd tap the Esc key, then press X (Enter]. If you don't want to save, you'd tap the Esc key and press Q [Enter] to quit.

Typing "endcli" will close the Shell window. If you hold down Ctrl and both Amiga keys you can do a soft reboot to see if your change(s) fixed your problem or not.

It's also worth noting you can use the semi-colon at the beginning of any line in the Startup Sequence (SS) to comment it out without deleting it entirely. That can come in handy so you aren't taking photos of your screen every step of the way.

Re: best solution for this recurring message at boot?

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 12:20 pm
by McTrinsic
Is it a 3.1 system?

If so, you could enter „set Echo on“ at the beginning of the startup-sequence.
Please remember you must also set „set echo off“ at the end of it.

You can then execute the s-s stepwise.

This will help you to find the culprit. ;)

Cheers,
McT

Re: best solution for this recurring message at boot?

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 1:09 pm
by cc3d
intric8 wrote:
Fri Jun 05, 2020 10:02 am
You have something trying to load very likely in your startup sequence.

For example, let's say you have Directory Opus load on boot-up. That message is very normal to see depending on when it gets called in the startup sequence if you have a RTG card in use (this is just an example). DOpus kind of gets in the way of the other drivers being loaded, and that message is actually quite normal.

If you go into your startup-sequence, I bet you'll get an idea as to what might be getting in the way.

As a reminder, you would open the Shell and

Code: Select all

cd s:
(change directory to the S:)

Then

Code: Select all

ed startup-sequence
If you don't see anything unusual there - like some lines to start a program on boot you may or may not have anymore, it's possible there could be something in the user-startup file. User-startup is a great place to do that kind of thing and not lock your startup-sequnce on boot if something fails.

To open and edit the user startup, you'd go back to s: and

Code: Select all

ed user-startup

If you make any changes in either file, and want to Save them, you'd tap the Esc key, then press X (Enter]. If you don't want to save, you'd tap the Esc key and press Q [Enter] to quit.

Typing "endcli" will close the Shell window. If you hold down Ctrl and both Amiga keys you can do a soft reboot to see if your change(s) fixed your problem or not.

It's also worth noting you can use the semi-colon at the beginning of any line in the Startup Sequence (SS) to comment it out without deleting it entirely. That can come in handy so you aren't taking photos of your screen every step of the way.


Thank you!! This is a world of help. Amazing that I knew all of this in the 80's and 90's. It's coming back slowly now. This is like going back in time!

Re: best solution for this recurring message at boot?

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 1:11 pm
by cc3d
McTrinsic wrote:
Fri Jun 05, 2020 12:20 pm
Is it a 3.1 system?

If so, you could enter „set Echo on“ at the beginning of the startup-sequence.
Please remember you must also set „set echo off“ at the end of it.

You can then execute the s-s stepwise.

This will help you to find the culprit. ;)

Cheers,
McT
It's a 3.0 system. I want to get to 3.1, but that's next. I only just remembered that SCSI cables were very specific on connection order. Man, this is a great trip back. My A4000 is a loaded beast. I'll postt he specs later, but I had spent a fortune on it at the time. It made me some good $$$ back then. The early Lightwave/toaster days were great!

Re: best solution for this recurring message at boot?

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 7:37 pm
by cc3d
Thanks all. I have it booting cleanly now. I appreciate the help!

Re: best solution for this recurring message at boot?

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 10:01 pm
by McTrinsic
If you have an accelerator or at least reset-proof FastRAM you could try to softkick to 3.1 .

Re: best solution for this recurring message at boot?

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2023 6:28 am
by McTrinsic
Addition:
you can add „set interactive on“ and later „set interactive off“