JYakapucci

Posted Mon Dec 13, 2021 1:35 pm

I managed to pick up a nice Amiga 500 package for what I think is a very good price. However, being a total newb to the Amiga scene (my only other Commodore was a 64 back around 1990) I have some questions.

The package that I got was the 500, a 1080 monitor, 570 CD drive and an external floppy (can't remember the model).

Upon getting it home, I noticed that the warranty stickers had been removed so I opened it to see what had been done already. It is a Rev 6A board and has the A501 module (which I am going to open and check the caps on) as well as some type of ROM switch. The guy I bought it from mentioned something about pressing keys on start up to change the ROM, but it was his father's computer and this is about the limit of the knowledge. Is anyone familiar with this version of board and can point me to any documentation so I know how to use it and what all the jumpers are for?

Thanks in advance for any help that anyone can provide.
ROM-Switch-scaled.jpg

rpiguy9907

Posted Mon Dec 13, 2021 1:52 pm

JYakapucci wrote:
Mon Dec 13, 2021 1:35 pm
I managed to pick up a nice Amiga 500 package for what I think is a very good price. However, being a total newb to the Amiga scene (my only other Commodore was a 64 back around 1990) I have some questions.

The package that I got was the 500, a 1080 monitor, 570 CD drive and an external floppy (can't remember the model).