intric8
Seattle, WA, USA

Posted Thu Feb 22, 2024 2:45 pm

Kind of a funny experience happened to me today. First, some context.

Back on June 8, 2019, I gave a presentation at the Living Computer Museum. I gave two short presentations. One was a show-and-tell of my recently acquired Amiga Development System. The other covered two of the exciting Commodore 64 motherboard replacement options: the Ultimate64 and C64 Reloaded.

After I was done an older man (I say this with affection) in a white beard wearing denim overalls came up to me. He introduced himself as Jim Bosley from Gig Harbor, WA, and proceeded to explain how back in the day he’d bought an Amiga when they were first released. He taught himself how to program in Amiga Basic and created several of his own custom programs. He was not a programmer by trade; he did this all on his own.

Impressed, I asked if he stuck with technology as a result of his experiences with Amiga. He replied that at the time his wife preferred strongly that he spend his time on other things so the Amiga wound up being put into storage. And no, he did not follow a career path in tech.

One of the programs he was most proud of was a game he called Master Mind. He'd actually brought his original disk with him and handed it to me.

He wondered if I could:
  1. See if his disk still worked.
  2. If so, make a new copy of it and mail it to him.
  3. Send him some photos of my screen if I got things working.
How and why he was at LCM the day I was there and why he brought his old disk I’ve no idea. Perhaps he thought he might be able to use it with a working Amiga demo machine out on the museum floor. I’m not sure. If that were the case my being there must have felt like pure serendipity from Jim's standpoint.

Anyway I got his email address and took the disk home with me.